Where are garbanzo beans?

Chickpeas are native to the Mediterranean region and are a major ingredient of many Middle Eastern, Mediterranean and Indian dishes, such as hummus, falafels and Indian curries. Growth in domestic demand for chickpea-containing products have helped to support prices and expand growth in production.