What were irish wolfhounds bred for?

Irish wolfhounds were bred to be primarily used as war dogs. They were trained to pull men down from horses and chariots. Because they were considered ferocious and brave, eventually they were also used to hunt dangerous game like elk, boars and wolves, and as guard dogs for homes and livestock.