What is the emmy one oh nine?

The Messerschmitt Bf 109, or M E-109 is a German WWII fighter aircraft that was, along with the Focke-Wulf Fw 190, the backbone of the German fighter force. It was a single-engine fighter first was used in 1937 in the Spanish Civil War and was still in service at the end of World War II in 1945.