What is the premise of the movie birdbox?

Bird Box's premise is: if you see it, you die. The survivors of a decimated population must now avoid coming face to face with an entity that takes the form of their worst fears. Looking for a sanctuary, a woman and her children embark on a journey to scape from this mysterious entity, blindfolded.