What's the difference between a musk melon in a cantaloupe?

Muskmelon has a ribbed, tan skin and a sweet, musky flavor and aroma. Over the years, many unique varieties of muskmelon have emerged, including cantaloupe. While all cantaloupes are muskmelons, not all muskmelons are cantaloupes.