What is a halter monitor?

A Holter monitor is a battery-operated device that measures and records your heart's activity for 24 to 48 hours. The device is as big as a small camera and has wires with electrodes that attach to your skin. Your cardiologist uses the readings to see if your heart is working properly over time.