Why do cats meow so much?

Cats cannot communicate with us the way they do with other cats, which is why cats meow at humans to communicate. When your cat wants food or attention then the meows will sound pleasing. But if your cat is angry or annoyed, then the meow sounds very unpleasant—it is meant to get our attention.