What is absinthe?

A perennial aromatic Eurasian herb in the composite family, naturalized in North America & having pinatifid, silvery, silky leaves and numerous nodding flower heads. Also called wormwood. Also a green liquor having a bitter anise or licorice flavor and a high alcohol content prepared from absinthe.