What does flint look like?

Inside the nodule, flint is usually dark grey, black, green, white or brown in color, and often has a glassy or waxy appearance. A thin layer on the outside of the nodules is usually different in colour, typically white and rough in texture. The nodules can often be found along streams and beaches.