What does a butler do?

Modern Butlers do common tasks like hosting, greet guests, serve meals and drinks, answer calls, assist in planning events and dinners, manage the wine cellar, oversee and train staff, organize payroll, schedule staff, hire and fire staff, personal valet services and sometimes chauffeuring .

---

The primary function of a butler is to serve as host. Depending on the place of employment, duties range from handling the employer's personal matters, billing, invoicing, overseeing the hiring and assignment of duties to staff, as well as ensuring guests and visitors needs are met.