What is a substitute for cream?

If you have butter & whole milk or half-and-half, you can make your own cream substitute. For 1 cup of heavy cream, melt 1/4 cup of butter & slowly whisk in 3/4 cup milk. This works for most recipes that require heavy cream, but it will not whisk into stiff peaks. You'll need the real thing for that