Why do boys voices get deeper during puberty?

Before a boy reaches puberty, his larynx or voice box is pretty small and his vocal cords are kind of small and thin. That's why his voice is higher than an adult's. But as he goes through puberty, the larynx gets bigger and the vocal cords grow longer and become thicker, making a deeper sound.