Is heavy cream the same thing as whipping cream?

According to the labeling standards of the Food and Drug Administration, heavy cream is a cream with no less than 36 percent milk fat. It may also be called heavy whipping cream. In contrast, whipping cream has a slightly lower milk fat content, 30 to 36 percent.