Why is the pinky finger called the pinky finger?

It derives from a much older sense of pinkie for something tiny, which in turn comes from one meaning of the adjective pink. This adjective came into Scots from Dutch. In modern Dutch pink means the little finger, so it might look as though the American pinkie comes directly from it.