Why do they call hotdogs glizzy's?

A glizzy is a hot dog. It was originally a slang term for “gun” in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area (also known as the DMV), but according to HipHop DX, it became a nickname for hot dogs because the length of the barbecue staple is similar to the extended clip of a gun.