Why are sweatshirts called sweatshirts?

The name comes from 'Loopwheel', the traditional knitting machine that was historically used to knit the fabric. Having the loops on the back of the fabric was originally designed to allow the sweatshirt to absorb sweat from your body and pass it into the garment to keep you cool.