What are expo markers made out of?

Permanent markers use an acrylic polymer that helps the pigment stick to surfaces, while dry erase markers use an oily silicone polymer. The silicone polymer makes dry erase marker ink slippery and prevents the colored pigment of the marker to come in direct contact with the surface