Who invented the mini ball?

Both the Minie ball munition and the Minie rifle were invented by Claude-Etienne Minié. Historians note that the Crimean War and the American Civil War were bloodier because soldiers were in formations successful against inaccurate smooth-bore guns, but rifles and minie balls were accurate further.