What's pickled herring?

Pickled herring is usually herring that has been pickled in vinegar and has been seasoned with an assortment of spices that might include salt, sugar, onions, pepper, and other seasonings according to taste.

---

Herring is a fish that live around coastal areas and fishing banks, and is often preserved in jars by pickling them in vinegar, onions and spices. Pickled herring is considered a food staple among many northern European countries, including Sweden.