What's the difference between pickles and relish?

A pickle is basically any food preserved in a solution like vinegar or brine. The process changes the texture and flavor of the food. A relish is basically a cooked or pickled food item that may contain fruits, herbs, or vegetables. Relishes are used as a condiment to enhance the taste of a meal.