What's the dangly thing in the backyard throat?

The dangly thing in your throat is called the uvula

---

The uvula is one of the weirdest looking features of the human body. Despite its infamy, scientists have spent centuries puzzling over its function. The hangy ball's full name is the “palatine uvula,” referring to its location on your soft palate.