When was the letter j invented?

1524. Both I and J were used interchangeably by scribes to express the sound of both the vowel and the consonant. It wasn't until 1524 when Gian Giorgio Trissino, an Italian Renaissance grammarian known as the father of the letter J, made a clear distinction between the two sounds.

---

In 1524, Gian Giorgio Trissino, an Italian Renaissance grammarian, made a clear distinction between the sound of the letter I and the letter J. After that distinction, the letter J was added to the alphabet. Until then, J was a Roman numeral.