What to do if approached by a shark?

Try not to thrash and splash around as you gradually swim backwards toward shore. You must try and keep the animal in sight and very slowly and gently try and swim backwards and get into shallow water. Again, you've got to be careful -- large sharks can attack in very shallow depths.