What is the scientific name for pizza?

The origin of the word pizza is from Latin pinsere "to pound, stamp". The Lombardic word bizzo or pizzo meaning "mouthful" (related to the English words "bit" and "bite"), which was brought to Italy in the middle of the 6th century AD by the invading Lombards. Is that scientific?