Where did hush puppies come from?

According to whatscookingamerica, The oldest story is that hushpuppies originated in the settlement of New Orleans, shortly after 1727. They were created by a group of Ursuline nuns who had come from France. The nuns converted cornmeal into a delicious food that they named croquettes de maise.