How do you cook poached eggs?

Add 2 inches of water to a pot. Add a splash of white vinegar & some salt. Bring water to a boil and then lower the heat until simmering. Pour in raw egg, cover with lid & turn off heat. Cook 2 to 5 minutes depending on desired doneness. Scoop out and dry off.