Who made gunpowder?

The Chinese are credited with the first working gun powder in about the year nine hundred AD. Its early use was in fireworks and magic tricks. A bit over a hundred years later it was used in a crude cannon and hand grenade like bombs. By the year twelve hundred gunpowder had spread across Europe.