What's the plastic thing at the end of a shoelace called?

The plastic thing at the end of a shoelace is called an aglet, derived from a middle English term used to describe the metal ends put on ropes, by dipping the end of the rope in molten metal. These ends served, as your shoelace aglets do, to help guide the rope through eyeholes.