What is the name luke come from?

Luke is a male given name, and less commonly, a surname. The name Luke is the English form of the Latin name Lucas. It is derived from the Latin name Lucius, and it either means "the great Lucius", or it is a shortened form of the Latin name. Lucius means "the bright one" or "the one born at dawn".