What is a flesh eating bacteria?

Necrotizing fasciitis is a rare infection that's often described as a condition involving "flesh-eating bacteria." It can be fatal if not treated promptly. Necrotizing fasciitis spreads quickly and aggressively in an infected person. It causes tissue death at the infection site and beyond.