What chemical causes soap bubbles?

In true soap, it is caused by a saponified lipid. In most modern soap products it is the result surfactants. Both types of soap decrease the surface tension of the water. When agitated (lathered) air becomes entrained in the solution forming bubbles.

---

Soap