Has a monkey ever gone to space?

The first monkey to be sent successfully into space was Albert II, a male rhesus monkey, who made it to a height of 83 miles (134 km) on June 14, 1949. A problem with the parachute on the recovery capsule sadly led Albert II to his death from the force of the impact upon landing.