What happened to the andrea doria?

On 25 July 1956, while Andrea Doria was approaching the coast of Nantucket, Massachusetts, bound for New York City, the Eastbound MS Stockholm of the Swedish American Line collided with it in one of history's most infamous maritime disasters. She sank with a loss of 46 lives.