Why is arkansas called arkansas?

The word “Arkansas” came from the Quapaw Indians, exploration, who lived West of the Mississippi and north of the Arkansas River. The Algonkian-speaking Indians of the Ohio Valley called them the Arkansas, or “south wind”.