Is papaya a fruit or a vegetable?

Papaya is a fruit. It is a large berry with orange flesh and black seeds.

---

Papaya is a fruit. The difference between fruits and vegetables is that fruit has seeds inside and vegetables don't. Also, fruits grow from flowers of a tree or vine while vegetables grow close to the ground, e.g., potatoes (roots), lettuce (leaves). Surprisingly, avocados and tomatoes are fruit.