What does x. d. mean in movies?

XD stands for Extreme Digital, Cinemark's answer to IMAX. It makes for a better viewing experience with a higher slope than a normal theater, customized surround sound system made specifically for this type of theatre, and a floor to ceiling wall to wall screen.