Who wrote the song the bird is the word?

"Surfin' Bird" is a song performed by American surf rock band the Trashmen. The song was released in 1963. It is a combination of two hits by the Rivingtons: "Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow" and "The Bird's the Word". All three songs sound very similar.