Who is the puppet in five nights at freddy's?

The marionette, also known as the puppet, is a character from the Five Night's At Freddy's franchise, first appearing in FNAF 2. The puppet is thought to be possessed by one of the first victims of William Afton, Charlotte Emily, and the one to have "given life" to the other victims.