Does drinking milk help heartburn?

While it's true that milk can temporarily buffer stomach acid, nutrients in milk, particularly fat, can stimulate the stomach to produce more acid. Try fat-free skim milk and don't drink more than 8 ounces at a time since overfilling the stomach may increase heartburn.