Are alligators salt water or fresh water?

According to Dundee and Rossman's 1989 book The Amphibians and Reptiles of Louisiana American alligators can live in both freshwater and brackish water. Brackish water has more salinity than fresh water, but not as much as seawater. Chinese alligators are only found in freshwater environments.