How long do you steam broccoli in the microwave?

A cup of broccoli should steam in 4 minutes. Since microwaves vary, check it the first time after 2 and a half.

---

Cut one pound of broccoli into bite-size florets and place in microwave safe dish with 2 to 3 tablespoons of water. Cover and microwave on high for two and one half minutes and check. If softer broccoli is desired, stir and cook up to a minute and a half more. Times are approximate.