Do you have to peel eggplant for eggplant parmesan?

Although eggplant skin is edible, it is better to eat it when the fruit is young. Older eggplants tend to be bitter tasting and most people would prefer to have it peeled. A popular recipe is eggplant parmesan, which usually includes the skin on each fried or baked, breaded slice.