How powerful is a hurricane?

Category 1 hurricanes produce winds of 75 to 95 miles per hour. Category 5 hurricanes can produce winds of more than 157 mph. Powerful winds can tear the roofs off houses, knock down trees and power lines, and drive storm surges that inundate coastal towns.