What is the song hallelujah about?

Leonard Cohen has always been ambiguous about what "Hallelujah," means. He originally wrote, and has performed, many variant verses, as have those who have covered the song, which further defies any attempt at assigning a single meaning. If the lyricist won't say, I certainly can't.