Can potatoes go in the fridge?

Uncooked potatoes are best kept somewhere cool and dry, but don't keep them in the fridge. Putting potatoes in the fridge can increase the amount of sugar they contain, and lead to higher levels of a chemical called acrylamide when the potatoes are baked, fried or roasted at high temperatures.

---

While cool temperatures are ideal for potato storage, refrigeration and freezing are not recommended. Very low temperatures can cause cold-induced sweetening. These sugars can form carcinogenic substances when exposed to very high cooking temperatures, so it’s best to keep levels low.