What are hawthorn berries used for?

Traditionally hawthorn berries are used to make jellies, wines and ketchup. Honeybees foraging on hawthorn blossoms bring a harvest of dark amber and nutty hawthorn honey. The young leaves and shoots of common hawthorn are edible and were once known as “bread and cheese”.