Why does your face turn red?

Whenever there is more blood flow to an area of skin (such as your cheeks), the blood vessels enlarge to compensate. This enlargement is what gives skin the “flushed” effect. Its a common physical response to anxiety, stress, embarrassment, anger, or another extreme emotional state.