How do you smart lights work?

Smart lights use mesh networking, where smart bulbs connects wirelessly to home automation hub via Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Z-Wave, ZigBee etc. The network is controlled by a hub, enabling your other networked devices, such as your phone or tablet, to communicate with the bulbs.