What is three kittens?

There are many instances of 3 kittens, probably because 3 is a popular number. The most famous may be the nursery rhyme: The three little kittens that lost their mittens and they began to cry. To which the mother replied, "What! Lost your mittens, you naughty kittens! Then you shall have no pie"