Why is guacamole called guacamole?

The name Guacamole, comes from an Aztec dialect, which literally translates to "avocado sauce.

---

The name comes from an Aztec dialect via Nahuatl āhuacamolli, which literally translates to "avocado sauce", from āhuacatl ("avocado") + molli ("sauce", literally "concoction").